The One Million Squidoo Lens Challenge

This is the daily log of the one million lens challenge. I will live off Squidoo income by making content-rich lenses, or make one million lenses! Which ever comes first. Basically, I’m not giving up. Follow me as I conquer Squidoo!

BIG NEWS: SquidOffers March 1, 2007

Filed under: amazing,lenses,lensmaster,squidoffers,squidoo — Skills @ 4:32 am

WOW!

I just checked the Squidoo forum (squidu.com) because of changes to some stuff on every Squidoo lens, and I read the announcement about the new Squidoo advertising program called SquidOffers.

Advertisers are set to get a massive amount of exposure, and lensmasters are set to earn a massive amount of money for doing nothing more than we were doing anyway!

You can read the announcement and group discussion about it by clicking here.

I SHALL SUM IT UP

On the right hand side of all the Maxed lenses right above where the google ads were and right below the bio is a new box called SquidOffers.

Click on any of my lenses in the previous posts and you’ll see what I mean. The SquidooOffers box displays the top 5 voted for adverts based on the category of my lens. Most of my current lenses are in the SEO and Affiliate Marketing category, so the ads/offers from that category display in the SquidOffers box on my lens.

To advertise, you’re looking at paying $100 a month. Which is VERY cheap considering the number of people you could reach.

The total number of ads allowed per category is 100. The 5 most voted for ads will show on all lenses in that category, the rest can be seen by clicking a link.

NOW THE BEST BIT

There are 21 categories at the moment. And about 100,000 lenses.

21 Categories each accepting 100 ads at $100 each = $210,000 a month revenue for Squidoo.

There being 100,000 lenses in the system means that each lens is valued at roughly $2 per month. And half of this is shared between lensmasters!

And because the number of lenses will soon double, Squidoo can then charge twice as much for a SquidooOffer.

So this is $1.2 million per year shared out between every batch of 100,000 lenses.

I know that monthly royalties from adsense revenue and SquidooOffer revenue is calculated using something called PayRank, but just using some basic maths here for a minute – if I make 4000 lenses then I should get roughly 4% of that amount. I know it’s bad maths because I don’t know the payrank algorithm, but I’m just trying to work out some concepts here! Anyway. 4% of $1.2 million dollars is $48,000 a year. Or $3000 a month.

So on just 4000 lenses I’m half way toward my target already! Just from SquidooOffers income without even counting any of the other ways of earning money from lenses that were, yesterday, the ONLY ways I had of earning money from my lenses.

As you can probably guess, I’m excited 🙂

The Challenge just got a whole lot more lucrative!

Skills

 

One Response to “BIG NEWS: SquidOffers”

  1. Marti Says:

    Thanks for the explanation!


Leave a Reply

